Una identitą in movimento

Havana Festival, a 25-Year-Old Dream


On December 3, 1979, a group of dreamers began a project that seemed impossible: the Havana New Latin American Film Festival, an initiative that has been fed with the passion of its founders for 25 years.

This festival has been held every year since then, exhibiting some 250 materials, including full-length films, documentaries, cartoons, and videos from the entire Latin America.

The Coral Awards are granted to the best film, first work, best actor and actress, script, photography, artistic direction, edition, music, soundtrack, unpublished script, as well as to the best materials about Latin America by a non Latin American filmmaker.

Parallel to the official section, there are special cinematography showings from Africa, Asia, and Europe, along with the most representative from the US production.

Following are the Coral awards for best films in the twenty-five years:

  • 1st Festival (1979): Coronel Delmiro Gouveia by Geraldo Sarno (Brazil).

  • 2nd Festival (1980): Gaijin, caminos de libertad, by Tizuka Yamasaki (Brazil).

  • 3rd Festival (1981): Ellos no usan smoking, by Leon Hirszman (Brazil).

  • 4th Festival (1982): Tiempo de revancha, by Adolfo Aristarain (Argentina).

  • 5th Festival (1983): Hasta cierto punto, by Tomas Gutierrez Alea (Cuba).

  • 6th Festival (1984): Memorias de la carcel, by Nelson Pereira dos Santos (Brazil).

  • 7th Festival (1985): Frida, naturaleza viva, by Paul Leduc (Mexico) and Tango, el exilio de Gardel, by Fernando Pinos Solanas (Argentina).

  • 8th Festival (1986): La hora de la estrella, by Suzana Amaral (Brazil), and Un hombre de exito, by Humberto Solįs (Cuba).

  • 9th Festival (1987): La Pelicula del rey, by Carlos Sorin (Argentina).

  • 10th Festival (1988): Sur, by Fernando Pino Solanas (Argentina).

  • 11th Festival (1989): Ultimas imagenes del naufragio, by Eliseo Subiela (Argentina).

  • 12th Festival (1990): Hello Hemingway, by Fernando Perez (Cuba).

  • 13th Festival (1991): Jerico, by Luis Alberto Lamata (Venezuela).

  • 14th Festival (1992): La tarea prohibida, by Jaime Humberto Hermosillo (Mexico).

  • 15th Festival (1993): Fresa y chocolate, by Tomas Gutierrez Alea and Juan Carlos Tabio (Cuba).

  • 16th Festival (1994): Principio y fin, by Arturo Ripstein (Mexico).

  • 17th Festival (1995): El callejon de los milagros, by Jorge Fons (Mexico).

  • 18th Festival (1996): Profundo carmesķ, by Arturo Ripstein (Mexico).

  • 19th Festival (1997): Martin (Hache), by Adolfo Aristarain (Argentina).

  • 20th Festival (1998): La vida es sķlbar, by Fernando Perez (Cuba).

  • 21st Festival (1999): Garaje Olimpo, by Marco Bechis (Argentina).

  • 22nd Festival (2000): Yo, tu, ellos, by Andrucha Waddington (Brazil).

  • 23rd Festival (2001): La cienaga, by Lucrecia Martel (Argentina).

  • 24th Festival (2002): Ciudad de Dios, by Fernando Meirelles (Brazil) and Tan de repente, by Diego Lerman (Argentina).

Source: PL

Year 3 Number 12, December 05th, 2003

CUBARTE Newsletter is a specialized weekly news service from the Portal of Cuban Culture. In our pages you will find the most outstanding aspects from national culture ongoing and its worldwide reflection, as well as opinion sections dealing with themes which today worry intellectuals.

Cuba. Una identitą in movimento

Webmaster: Carlo Nobili — Antropologo americanista, Roma, Italia

© 2000-2009 Tutti i diritti riservati — Derechos reservados

Statistiche - Estadisticas